Learn More

The California

(Off-Strip)

Hotel / Casino Ratings & Reviews The California

2 Stars 360 Vegas Mark October 03, 2014

No discernible theme and the atmosphere rivals its neighbor the Las Vegas Club, sad. Looks like what you would expect a casino to look like in any random hotel chain in America.

3 Stars Remi August 18, 2012

Average room with a junk view. Got the East Tower (the one with the Buddha in lobby). The only plus is the fridge in the room. Staff is very friendly. Could hear the music blasting at 11pm from FSE so can't imagine what it must be like for the hotels down there. Main Street is way nicer so I'm probably going back there next time. P.S., if your going to catch the shuttle to Sam's Town don't look for the big bus like they show on their brochure. It's one of the small shuttles that says Station Casino on the front. Missed the darn shuttle b-cuz of it.

4 Stars AC September 26, 2011

The overall experience was why I gave it a 4. You can't compare this hotel to strip casino like Wynn or Palazzo. We arrived on a Friday around 1:30 pm. I parked the car with valet, valet was very friendly. I had no wait when I checked in. Front desk gave me a corner room and it seemed like it had more room than a standard room. Room had a fridge and flatscreen tv with about 8 channels. Overall the room was really clean and quite surprised how nice it was. The casino was great! Friendly dealers, pitt, etc. Tons of 5 dollar blackjack. One 3 dollar bj. Two 5 dollar crap tables. For an older casino it wasn't smokey at all. Tons of Hawaiians who were all super friendly. Food at the cafe was good. The ox tale soup was yuummy. I would recommend if you are a lower roller and don't want to see so many douche bags like they have walking all over the strip.

4 Stars Da808guest April 29, 2010

Well what can I say if your from Hawaii and it's your first trip to Vegas. Your probably going with vacations Hawaii and staying at the cal. I stayed here a total of 10 times all in the new tower. Not by the Buddha. For you first few trips to vegas the rooms I thought were good the staff was friendly of course this is a home away from home. That also have great food. Eat on the second floor at aloha specialties or the chop steak at the snack bar.

0 Stars SE February 28, 2010

Very friendly staff . Room clean and maids very nice... Did not like the phone reservation person... Very rude and did not appear to care if I made reservations or not ... Called travdlocity and made reservations thru them. Way better service

3 Stars Manu March 02, 2009

Hotel room was very clean and they were very accommodating to our needs of changing from a smoking to non-smoking room.

0 Stars mike_ch December 27, 2006

Being here on a free room offer, we got one of the less desirable rooms, 3rd floor (bottom of the hotel, it seems, since the 2nd floor appears to be offices) of the older tower. Beds were kind of low to the floor, TV reception was often bad, the window looked out onto the satellite dishes on the keno roof and out towards Binions' parking garage. However, it was clean with a minor exception for the bathtub which had simply seen too many years.

Location is not good, either. You're off the Fremont Street Experience, halfway to the bus terminal depot. While this isn't a problem during the day, it may be a little scary at night, especially if you're walking from FSE to the hotel alone. For the safety-concious or simply paranoid, you can enter Las Vegas Club, meander around to the back of their casino, and exit out the lobby and you'll be okay. The doorway leads out to a brightly lit area where you can cross the street to the Cal. One evening I encountered panhandling in front of the hotel, but again it's brightly lit.

"So then," the curious reader asks, "why come here?"

Well, if you're from Hawaii, you probably know that this hotel started the concept of catering to visitors from that state, an idea that has been slightly co-opted by the rest of the casinos downtown. However, even if you don't know the difference between ohana and kokua, you can probably get a room here at a very acceptable rate. And if you have a choice between California or Main Street Station as part of a casino promotional, you'll have less railroad and freeway noise than at MSS.

There's also the service. Boyd Gaming seems to be quite good at motivating their employees. They may not be the flashiest or the friendliest staff in the city, but they get business done and they do it well. A few flaws and some minor but obvious tip hustling were apparent, but at least they didn't seem look down at you like some of the strip resorts will.

If you're a serious gambler and location doesn't matter much to you, go ahead and give it a whirl.

0 Stars RateVegas User August 01, 2001

I was at the Cal on a special invite--never stayed there before.
4 nites and 5 days free--8 meals free-- and triple points.

So the room we got was very small and overlooking the airconditioning units on the roof.

But--it was all free--it was clean--and it worked out just fine for us. Service was ok.

We enjoyed our stay--gambling met our needs, i.e., quarters for the most part.

I shall return!!

Bill in VA