Learn More


Golden Gate


(Off-Strip) Read more...

Golden Gate

Derek Stevens

Nearby

Vegas Club | The Plaza 

Share

Hotel / Casino Ratings & Reviews Golden Gate

4 Stars Bluestorm2000 March 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in March 2013. Room was full of character. Old style bathroom, but with modern TV and comfy new bed. Windows are thin, so you do get a lot of noise from Fremont Street, light sleepers should probably avoid. Definitely worth a return visit. Smart casino with friendly staff, also a plus. Very impressed with Golden Gate.

5 Stars Stuart Poyner December 12, 2012

Booked one of the new suites (40). Huge room with every amenity you could want. Bed not the most comfortable but perfectly ok. Hotel reeks of atmosphere and history. Super friendly place. If you want a slice of real old time vegas with modern day comfort then book one of the new suites.

4 Stars Kire October 23, 2012

After the renovation this place is looking nice. Derek Stephens also owns the d, and has done good here. Du pars is now in the front but you can ask for your cheap shrimp to go or sit at the counter.

4 Stars Gordon C June 26, 2012

This is where Vegas started. The first hotel in las Vegas so don't go expecting a new swank hotel. What you get is friendly staff and very clean rooms. They added 16 new suites and totally remodeled the casino. Sexy dealers at night, a wide selection of slots. The only miss to me is the pop/ dance music. But if you enjoy watching lovely ladies dance, and deal cards it's a good place to chill.

1 Star Cindy June 30, 2011

I like the casino end and used to love the little restaurant in the back. Yummy cheap food. However the last time we went we were in line fir our food and the staff helped two "regulars" who were in the line(you walk through with a tray in line to order your food) before us who were there easily 10 min before the regulars. Very unimpressive. My husband said something to the server and she gave him a snide look and said sorry but still served the others first. Sorry to say we won't go back.

5 Stars Ryan June 18, 2011

"sexy" blackjack dealers are surprisingly hot for downtown, plus they still pay 3:2 for blackjack

5 Stars Ts March 02, 2011

Great stick crew! Craps was great! Stickman named Tony really kept the action going! Hot waitresses and stiff drinks! This place is awesome for a night of craps and cocktails! We will be returning!

1 Star Vegasrate August 05, 2010

The very worst dump in Vegas.

3 Stars Capri Vegas June 06, 2010

Stayed: 5/29/10. Surprisingly hip room with modern furnishings. LCD TV , although you only get 12 stations...I would prefer a tube TV with more stations. As other reviews may indicate, there is no peace from 6pm to 2am; do not take a room on the Fremont side if you might need a nap! If you are CERTAIN you have no need for sleep, you may get a kick out of opening the window and letting in the sounds of Fremont St.

3 Stars Patrick May 19, 2010

My girlfriend and I hung out here a few nights while we were in town and we had a blast. Great dealers, good bartenders and you gotta love the setup.

3 Stars Steven Brown May 03, 2010

Stayed here in March of 2009. You definitely could not beat the $19.06/night rate, especially when they were even offering this rate on Friday and Saturday nights. Was a bit of a last minute trip for me, (as I consider booking one three weeks out to be last minute) and was on a bit of a budget. Three nights for less than half of what I paid to stay at Binion's the previous May sealed the deal.

I arrived about mid-evening and didn't have to wait too long to check in. They don't use the typical key cards that can slip into your wallet like most places, they use something that looks like a plastic version of a old room key with a plug that you put into the key slot. You definitely know that key is in your pocket.

The elevator was usually not too long of a wait and the stairs are close by as well.

One disadvantage to the Golden Gate is that there's not anywhere for the shuttle buses to drop or pick up folks at. I got dropped off across the street at The Plaza. Thankfully the shuttle bus did pick me up in front of the Golden Gate (in the taxi loading zone).

Yes the rooms are small if you are getting the single queen, but we're not in Vegas to hangout in our room now, are we? I could sit in the chair and prop my feet up on the bed. The decor is retro modern and includes amenities like an iHome clock/iPod dock, an 42" LG TV (No HD channels though.) and a coffee maker. The room carpet looked to be one of the few things they didn't replace in the renovations.

The bathroom looks as though it was shoehorned into the room some years earlier and was tiny (in order to use the toilet, you have to actually close the door), the shower head is a bit low if you're over 5'6" and the water temp and pressure depends on the time of day. The best was to describe the bathroom is prison chic.

I did eat one meal at the Bay City Diner, and it was pretty good (can't wait to try out its' replacement, Du-Par's).

As for the casino, I'd rather go play elsewhere, as I've never had much luck there like I have at other Downtown joints.

I do have to say that the One bar they added last year out on Fremont Street is a good spot to grab a drink. They had Guinness on tap when I was out there last November, and most of the frozen drink options are better than what La Bayou and Mermaids offer.

4 Stars Kara C. April 06, 2010

Stayed Nov 2009.

Boutique hotel = small, but they're really trying to make it special.

Rooms recently refurbished: small room mostly taken up by a big bed and not much else, huge plasma TV, iHome iPod charger/clock in-room. Quick elevator.

Old school showers that are in a stall with no shower curtain, just a small wall between the shower area and the sink area in the bathroom.

Attentive service. It's so small, the maids get to know you just from you walking by for a few days.

Craps dealers are fun. Easily impressed by someone who knows the basics of how to play the game -- they must deal with a lot of newbies.

Great deals on room from their website! Will definitely stay here again!

4 Stars Bill Buth March 26, 2010

Stayed at the Golden Gate twice, once a couple of years back before the current remodeling, and again a few months ago. Although I've stayed in several downtown hotels, the Golden Gate is the most memorable, and I would certainly stay here again, especially considering the $19.06 per weekday room rate. This 100+ year old hotel has tiny rooms because that was the way they built them back then, but they are more than adequate, and the new furnishings are better than most I've seen downtown and at some strip hotels. It is noisy before midnight if you are in one of the Fremont Street-facing rooms, but you get a great view of the crowd antics. There is only one elevator, which is never busy, and there are always the stairs. The valet-only parking is free for guests, and only a couple of steps out the back door. There's no bell service, but the rest of the staff is great, very personable, and helpful. The casino is probably as close as you're going to find to an 'old time' gambling joint, with a bar running the full length of the table-game section of the casino. There's a real piano player at a real piano during peak hours, and a great deli in the back. The coffee shop is also first-rate. This is one of my favorite places in Vegas, not so much because of a couple outstanding things, but more because of the sum of a lot of smaller, pleasant experiences.

3 Stars Greg Weight January 08, 2010

Stayed one night in a fourth floor room. Room was small, but clean and well-appointed. However, the room also faced out onto the FSE canopy, so if you want to sleep before midnight, make sure you request a room facing away from the FSE. Very friendly check-in and slot club staff. Good experience.

4 Stars Steven S. October 04, 2009

Best bargain downtown. Friendly staff clean rooms. And outstanding shrimp cocktail for 99 cents! Hint: request a room facing Fremont St when you check in. Nice view of the street action and light show right from your room. Bathrooms are industrial with very little counter space but otherwise you can't go wrong here.

5 Stars Drew Dondero February 05, 2009

I just stayed at the Golden Gate for a week during my convention. The entire hotel has been remodeled (new beds, furniture, plasma TV's) and the room was priced at $19.06 per night. The room rate signifies the year the hotel opened. The hotel is not a megaresort but it's convenient and clean. During our trip, we filled the casino with our trade group on a few nights and had a great time.

0 Stars lin99 April 27, 2006

Stayed in March. Requested non-smoking 6 weeks advance and didn't get it. Ashes were on floor when we arrived. Sprinkler head leaked into our bathroom when upstairs shower was run. No action taken by management/staff when complained. Beautiful hotel that is not maintained properly. Stay once for the historic value only. I won't go back there.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User April 07, 2005

Stayed in a third floor single queen, view of the roof. Decent room in good condition, smallish, and with a somewhat unusual shower stall (just a tiled room). Thinnish walls and doors, no in-room safe. Definitely had a vintage feel to it. Glad I stayed here once, but often a better deal can be gotten elsewhere downtown on a newer/larger room.

0 Stars Ckawa June 25, 2004

I would only stay in this place if I went to VEgas on my own. the 10x10 room is small. teh bathroom is smaller. This feels very old. You can hear what is going on in the hallway. I would rather not stay there becaseu I am more used to the newer hotels. Motel 6 would be better than this spot. But for a peice of nostalgic vegas. Go here. Food was excelent.

0 Stars RateVegas User September 06, 2000

Above average service, below average rooms.

0 Stars RateVegas User June 13, 2000

Cheap, clean rooms for downtown gamblers. In my opinion Las Vegas Club is similar but better.

0 Stars RateVegas User June 11, 2000

I have good friends that go to Vegas every year & only stay at the Golden Gate for they really like it.

0 Stars RateVegas User June 11, 2000

I have good friends that go to Vegas every year & only stay at the Golden Gate for they really like it.