Learn More


(The Strip)

Hotel / Casino Ratings & Reviews Tropicana

4 Stars Talitha September 22, 2013

I have been wanting to stay here since my first trip to Vegas three years ago. I'm staying in the Club Tower on the non view side. Unfortunate thing seems to be that the express route for emergency vehicles is right outside my window by the sounds of things. Bed is comfy, room is clean although a bit small. TV is large. Had a Trop limo pick me up at the airport as I was in a rush and had a lovely young driver from Wisconsin. Only slots I actually did okay on last night were here. Sure, this place is no Wynn or Aria, but it's not meant to be. It's a great place for the price with a nice atmosphere. I love the Sinatra playing in the hall as I walked to the Club Tower. There's history here and you can feel it.

4 Stars Tracey October 24, 2012

We quite enjoyed our stay at the Tropicana. There is the faint smell of coconut, as we expected, but was not obnoxious. And really, you don't even notice it much except for when first coming in the door. Upon check in, we requested an upgrade to the Paradise tower. The room wasn't ready, but we were willing to wait and left our luggage in lock up. We had the breakfast buffet, sitting outside on the patio overlooking the gardens and waterfalls. The food was not bad, esp the omelette station. The price jacked up quite a bit with 2 simple Caesars, so be aware. Afterwards, we hit the strip for a bit. Upon the check in, we found our room to be a decent size, clean and bright. We were on the 19th floor and our room looked exactly like the pictures on here, with the painting of the lady on the wall. Our view looked towards Mandalay Bay and airport area. But still amazing esp at night with all the hotel lights. The bed was firm, but a comfortable firmness. No fridge or coffee maker, but I believe these are things you can request. Starbucks on the main floor takes care of it too. There is a little cafeteria eatery place as well, but its not really optimal for late hours so plan to head to MGM next door or across the street at New York New York. You also have the option of the Tropicana shop with your usual supplies. The location of the Tropicana is actually very nice. At the South end of the strip, its quite easy to catch the Deuce and travel up and down the strip. The downfall is the express doesn't stop here. The bridges, elevators, and escalators are steps away to reach MGM, Luxor, Excalibur, Mandalay Bay, and New York New York. Make use of the free tram between Mandalay, Luxor and Excalibur. The pool area at Tropicana was very nice with a good mix of age groups. This was not the Spring Break party atmosphere that we have endured at other hotels on the strip and for us thats a plus. We easily charged our drinks to our room. We checked out the Comedy Factory on site and although we enjoyed it, we actually didn't enjoy the headliner. The host and the comedian in between were awesome and funny as hell. You can get cheaper tickets when you show your room card and you are welcome to bring in your drinks, so grab one or 2 before you go in. The casino floor is easy to navigate around, as it's not an overly huge hotel. Which is nice. There are plenty if slot machines, with some newer ones and just a couple of the bigger style ones. If you're looking for the big fun ones, you will need to go up the strip. But Slimer on Ghostbusters was great fun to play with! At check out, we found this to be a breeze, with only our pool side drinks added on to the bill. We were directed to the business centre to do web check in and print our boarding passes free of charge. No complaints about the staff at all. Everyone was helpful and friendly. We found that for us, the Tropicana suits us perfectly and we would stay here again.

4 Stars Jeff Y. September 21, 2012

The new Trop is great! I love the smell of it. Anyone complaining about the coconut smell has a problem. We stayed in the Club tower and the room was nice and clean. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. For us (in our 40's) the pool is possibly the best on the strip! Plenty of seating. Good food & drinks. They are lacking in food options, but the food court will fill your belly. Plus, just across the streets are plenty of food options. The casino is bright and a little plain but has all the games you need. It's a smaller casino but we felt very comfortable in it. The sportsbook is good. The poker room actually closed down while we were there buy again there are poker rooms across both streets. The far south end location is WAY different than staying mid strip but was very relaxing. We are planning our next trip to the Trop for next spring!!!

2 Stars Amanda paull September 09, 2012

Doesn't make the grade. Prices are reasonable and rooms are clean. But that's all. They just completed an $80M renivation but really not sure rhey made the right choices... Lobby is a mish mash of styles and colors and the ever-present scent of coconut that they pump into the place will slowly drive you mad. Simply not up to Vegas standards. Several travel sites give it 4 stars. It is not a 4-star property.

4 Stars KerenMark September 08, 2012

So happy with the new Tropicana! Clean, bright, fresh and friendly. The renovation dollars were well spent. Just had a standard room, which was very clean & comfortable. Love the pool & the table limits. Highly recommend the Bacio restaurant upstairs. The only thing stopping me from giving 5 chips is the Beach Cafe - great view, but the service and food were lacking & bad, respectively. .

5 Stars 360 Vegas Mark September 07, 2012

Love love love what they have done with the property. Bright casino, beautiful pool, nice rooms and great environment. Possibly the best refurb of a property in Vegas history. The New Trop is in my top 5 of Vegas properties I've stayed at so far.

5 Stars Benny Snowdon July 01, 2012

Stayed for seven nights June 2012 and loved it, lot more personal than the big hotels, had an upgrade to Paradise Tower. Totally impressed with the whole hotel complex. Staying again next year when revisiting sin city from UK

3 Stars Todd December 18, 2011

Overall a nice hotel for the money, everything was. Lean and new and you can tell that they are making a good effort. They did over look cleaning our room one day then when they did come we came back to discover a half used lolly pop on the night stand and they did not pick up the dirty glasses overall though had a good stay

4 Stars Mike September 26, 2011

I don't know about the rooms but the renos they did are amazing. They brought this place back up to Vegas standards for sure!

5 Stars Visitor from NZ September 13, 2011

Visited Vegas in May and stayed here for 8 days.. Room was great, the staff are exceptional here, don't be shy to ask them questions... They are more than willing to help! Room upgrade received by just asking at front desk, requested smokers room therefore had to deal with the cigar smell however if yr a smoker you'll get over it. The entire venue has been upgraded, Nikki beach opened the day after my checkout but I did get a sneak peak and it's FABULOUS!! Price, service, location, venue and overall experience is well worth yr consideration. Trust me it's great :)

5 Stars Jeff In OKC June 29, 2011

Leaving tomorrow morning. Had 5 wonderful days here. Stayed in a basic, single king room. Had everything we needed. Good bed, good TV channel selection and large screen. Nice layout and everything works. Very clean. The new Nikki Beach entrance is beautiful. The huge projector showing advertising on the side of our tower is the coolest thing I have ever seen! The parking layout is being reworked, it appears. A new lot has been put on the North side. When they finish working over the entire lot it should make parking much easier.

4 Stars John Agnos May 22, 2011

My wife and I visited Vegas in January celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary . We has a comp offer from the trop for 3 nights, so we thought we would give it a go. The offer told us how things had changed there and man were they right. The new room was excellent, as nice as the mirage where we had stayed before. The staff wad extremely courteous and friendly everywhere. The casino while smallish was clean and comfortable. Very intimate.the brad Garrett comedy club was hysterical, we had a blast. The trop is now my favorite and we are going back to Vegas on October. Another comp would be great but we will visit there anyway. Great atmosphere,great time

5 Stars Desmond Shaw March 27, 2011

Best stay EVER!! and I come here a lot. They messed up our penthouse reservation so in typical Tropicana style they more than made up for up by giving us the brand new GRAND PALM spa suite which you can't even book! 1600 sq, full bar and dining area, jacuzzi, dry sauna AND a steam room!! I will never ever stay anywhere else again!!

4 Stars Barbi February 05, 2011

Just leaving after 4 days here. Super nice staff, clean hotel & rooms. The front desk sent a bottle of whiskey for my birthday. The slot machines didn't pay even one game and there's nothing for options on food room service is the pits, but a great place to stay. We will be back!

3 Stars Kelly G January 02, 2011

Stayed back in 2004 and although room was dated was quite large. Beds were not comfortable. Staff was exceptionally pleasant. Went and saw renovations in 2010 and was impressed! The improvement to the casino is wonderful. Big, bright and airy. Waiting for a poker room to be completed before we stay here again but am pleased with other reviews posted here - looks like a winner.

5 Stars Desmond Shaw December 04, 2010

Third stay here this year, this time in the super amazing penthouse suite! We were treated like kings from start to finish! Room service was fantastic and very reasonably priced...So nice to not be hearded like cattle or sheared like a sheep as I have been at MGM/ harrahs properties...I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else again!

0 Stars Paula Sullivan September 08, 2010

I had a great weekend at the Tropicana! The room was fresh and new, tastefully appointed and very clean. The areas completed are beautiful. Can't wait to go back and see the finished product!

5 Stars Desmond Shaw August 17, 2010

Had a great weekend at the newly remodeled Tropicana! Had a one bedroom suite which was one of the coolest rooms I've ever had, especially for the price! Got it for only 90 a night. Unbeatable views of the strip from Mandalay bay all the way to the Wynn! The new comedy show is a great bargain and even though big swaths of the casino are still under construction, the vibe is great. The trop just might be my new fav place to stay we will def. Be back!!!

5 Stars Erik August 15, 2010

Penthouse suite was great! Two floors complete with grand marble entrance on first floor. Came with two tv's, sunken living room, full sized table to seat 4, half bath down stairs, jacuzzi downstairs with views north of the strip! Spiral stair case takes you upstairs to the master bedroom with views over the living room and out over the strip. Double vanity, soaker tub, shower sauna .. You read right a sauna! Excellent penthouse at only $750 a night.

4 Stars Erik August 05, 2010

Great looking suite, plenty of room to entertain. Clean all around. Suite came with robes, mini fridge, two plasma's. A great view. I would book here again in a heart beat. I normally loath resort fee's however, they have commented that this may soon include resort wide wifi and I'd be all over that. Great work Tropicana, keep it up!

5 Stars Kire July 29, 2010

Renovated rooms are amazing for the price. Pool is large and pleasant. A new favorite place to stay!

5 Stars Vodkasam666 June 11, 2010

We only used the casino and what with the $5 blackjack and roulette tables, the great bar and really nice dealers on the floor, I would stay there on my next trip. The dealers are really pleasent and helped u learn the ropes, we had a blast here. Brilliant : )

3 Stars Sylvia M. April 26, 2010

I know this is one of the older casinos but man was it crappy! It smelled like coconut everywhere, half the tables were shut down even though it was the weekend and the pink lights everywhere just give you a headache. There was also not a very good selection of games to play... It's just average.

4 Stars Hunter April 19, 2010

The new Paradise Tower rooms are a huge improvement - a solid middle tier property up from a struggling low end joint. Can't wait to see how well the other parts of the renovation go.

0 Stars Ryan April 15, 2010

I really enjoy the Tropicana casino. I have never stayed at the resort myself, and as they just upgraded the rooms, I don't have any comments about the hotel itself. That being said, I've always had a great time at the casino. The waitresses have been snappy with the drink service, I can regularly find $5 3-2 blackjack and $5 Craps, and the dealers are fun and friendly. I'm excited to see the casino get a face-lift but, I hope it's not at the expense of what makes it a fun property. Anyone interested in cheap tables in a fun and relaxed atmosphere without the nickle-and-diming from Bills or O'Sheas should consider swinging through here. You won't regret it.

5 Stars Brett April 09, 2010

Remodel is coming along beautifully!

5 Stars Brett March 23, 2010

Remodel is coming along beautifully!

3 Stars Big Time March 08, 2010

I stayed here the 1st time I went to Vegas about 5 years ago... It wasn't horrible... Work was being done as it was a bit outdated... Great location, and I'm very optimistic as a new owner just took over and is doing a 110 million dollar renovation... This place could be awesome

1 Star Ed Greenberg March 06, 2010

Avoid. No reason to stay here, none. Hotel was just sold is to be re-done. Way, way past its prime. Did I say AVOID?

5 Stars Shelby February 28, 2010

Everything, all common areas, restaurants, rooms, pool, etc. will be redone in a $100 million dollar renovation by early 2010. Enjoy!

5 Stars Shelby February 01, 2010

Everything, all common areas, restaurants, rooms, pool, etc. will be redone in a $100 million dollar renovation by early 2010. Enjoy!

4 Stars FrEaK a.k.a aLeX January 30, 2010

I had a wonderful time here. I slept good. And the view was awesome!!!

1 Star Vegas Lover January 08, 2010

In our family we like to refer to this hotel as the Tropidumpa! Our room smelled and it was really noisy! There was trash floating by us when we were in the pool. We've had lots of offers to stay again for free, but we've turned it down every time!

3 Stars VegasFunFacts October 30, 2009

The property is sagging a bit, and depending on whether you get one of the old rooms or one of the more recent (used loosely) additions, you might be disappointed. That being said, if you take it for what it is - an old property with a great heritage, you might enjoy yourself at the Trop. Cheap rooms, great pool, low limit gaming, good location. Staff is hit or miss, kinda like the food. Overall, a good spot for college kids, walmart crowd, and grandma all in one.

2 Stars William Dunn August 12, 2009

This was absolutely the most disgusting, filthy, worthless hotel I have ever stayed in. My family and I would have been better off at the $19.99 hotels off the strip! The carpet is black with filth, the toilet wouldn't flush, the sink dripped all night & the tub wouldn't drain. It was a wonderful experience showering in my own filth! The pool closed at 7pm (my kids loved that). Overall, I have never seen a hotel as worthless as this one. I can't wait until it is imploded.

1 Star MS June 17, 2009

Old and crappy...

2 Stars lori May 10, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! my parents hotel room was robbed and they had to call the desk several times before a security guard showed up and his attitude was couldnt care less. our friends had to switch rooms because theirs had been broken into before and the hotel had not bothered to fix the huge hole in the wall. the safes do not work. our door would not lock behind us when we left the room. the morning we left we heard sirens outside not uncommon but when we walked to our vehicle there was a helicopter with a spot light and cops in parking lot the hotel did not even warn us about what was happening outside when we were checking out we found out later that one of the parking lots of the hotel had been taped off with crime scene tape.

3 Stars Magnumbob November 05, 2008

'Just got back from LV yesterday.

I booked a room for 4 nights at the Tropicana through lasvegas.com.

When I arrived to the Hotel I was told that I would be charged an $8.71 "daily resort fee", a total of $34.84 for my 4 night stay. It seemed that no amount of complaining on my part was going to get the fee removed. Their attitude was pretty much "that's the way it is and if you don't like it, tough s#@%".

When I called LV.com they were very matter of fact in explaining to me that many Hotels have a fee like this, some as much as $25 a day. I was also told that LV. com plainly states that there may be other charges incurred.

Well, I just spent about an hour going over my receipts and actually going through the booking process again at there website, and here's what I found.

NOWHERE in the booking process does it plainly state that there may be extra fees added. In fact it plainly states numerous times a "total price including all taxes and fees". If you follow a link to the terms and conditions page you get "*When you book a room with us, we charge your credit card for the full amount immediately. You are guaranteed for late arrival. The total price includes all tax charges and service fees."

The following sentence reads as follows "*Some hotels may charge an additional nightly energy surcharge, an additional phone usage fee or other fees not accounted for in the booking process."

I suppose to LV.com, this one sentence gets them off the hook for blatantly false advertising.

I don't know...It seems to me that a reasonable person would look at the claim of "The total price includes all tax charges and service fees" and assume that the total price includes all taxes and fees.

I have called the credit card company and am contesting the charge.

0 Stars Neal Wright July 11, 2008

Absolutely horrible! This hotel is very old, outdated, and rank. My family and I stayed at the Tropicana in late June of 2008 and we were relieved to find out that the hotel was expected to be imploded withtin a year. The room and hallways distinctly smelled like a litter box with faint odors of urine and mildew. The bathroom was outdated and the pool facilities left a lot to be expected. The layout of the hotel forces all patrons to walk through the smoke-filled casino which really sets the mood for the stay ahead. do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else but here!

0 Stars Jay June 19, 2007

We stayed at the Trop the night of April 2nd. We had also stayed there in Feb '06 and we absolutely loved the mirrors above the beds (I highly recommend these if you have a hot wife like mine) in the rooms in the island towers, so that is what we booked for this trip.

We went to check in and they had upgraded us to a suite with a jacuzzi tub. It was a great room although we didn't spend much time in the room as you never do when you're in Vegas.

The first trip we ate breakfast at the Tropicana buffet and we weren't very impressed with that, so from then on we just walked across the street to the MGM for their buffet.

We went to the Comedy Stop at the Trop the evening we got in and found that all three comedians there that night were pretty funny. Not too bad for $20 pp.

The next day we checked our bags with the bell man and went to the Dirk Arthur magic show just to pass the time before our late afternoon flight out. We didn't expect much going in, but we were both pleasantly surprised with the show. A few of the tricks weren't that impressive, but we couldn't figure out how he did some of the stuff.

Another place to hit that is within walking distance was the Shark Reef at the Mandalay bay. We were both pretty impressed with it and found it a better shark exhibit than Sea World's in San Diego.

We spent some of our afternoon by the pool and found it to be a relaxing place to sit and sip a drink by the waterfall on the North end.

The hotel is obviously not as nice as the other strip hotels, but for the price it is very good.

0 Stars Rich June 08, 2007

The new owners need to step up closing the doors on this old gal. We were there June 4th & 5th 2007 and were surprised at how rundown it had become. We've stayed there many times before so knew it was an older hotel but now it's pretty much like the owners have stopped trying to maintain it. Employee moral is down and understandably so. The place is filthy and smells bad.

They need to bring on the TNT. Now.

0 Stars Doug April 16, 2007

I can see why other would have expected better.
Our Island Tower room was a little worn, but we still enjoyed it, especially for the rate. Loved the mirrors above and around the bed. They found a very classy way to pull that off.
Hotel and room were clean. Liked the nostalgia of the place.
Good value in Vegas.

0 Stars Alberta March 27, 2007

We stayed at the tropicana in 2006, It was the worst time ever. We stayed there for nine nights, we got a great deal but when we arrived we realized why. There was a huge line up when we got there and after an hour we finally got to our room at the far end of the hotel, and found our room not cleaned and the maid just leaving the bathroom when we walked into the bathroom it stunk and she hadnt fluched the toilet..We called fron desk and they told us to bring our bags and come back down..we waited in line again for 20 min, We asked for an upgraded room closer to the casino and front doors for free. We got our room and it was all good. But as we were checking out they asked us to pay an extra 300 for the room. We argued it but still had to pay..We recomend NOT staying there...It was a horrible place

0 Stars Dick Richard December 19, 2006

It is simply a sign of the times I would imagine. Especially in such a closed knit community. It is just so ingrained that there is really no reason to change or compete. People will go there regardless of the actual quality presented.....

The hotel becomes populated with long term employees... which then embody a change over some years and eventually end up with a bent almost entirely depending upon the massive influx of tourism instead of actual attention and up keep. The property itself is golden, which is probably part of what has instilled and supported such a cycle.

What is there to do about it besides just realizing it and making sure other people know it as well?

It is one thing to choose to exist as a resort in such a manner, then another thing entirely to do so while sometimes demanding to be respected as on the cutting edge even.

There is a strange dynamic about this hotel which I think is directly from the age of it. A want to be considered as modern and comparable to the other resorts WITHOUT the effort or concerns in presenting similar standards.

In my opinion, if they are just going to coast it out and gravey train it... then do so... but note that it doesn't fool anyone and further, no one owes them the accolades others earn.

0 Stars Anne October 15, 2006

We stayed at the "Tropicana" in Sept. 2006 for 5 night and had such a great time. We usually stay center Strip, but got a good price from the Tropicana so thought--why not..Our room faced the "pool" area along with facing the strip. Was actually the Best View we have ever gotten from a Hotel View! The pool was just beautiful. Spent many long afternoons enjoying it.Service was great -- check-in a breeze. For an older Hotel we had no complaints and would definetly stay here again...

0 Stars Lynn October 06, 2006

We stayed at the Tropicana for 5 nights in Sept. With all the negative reviews, I was leary about staying here. We arrived at 2:00PM on Sunday & was immediately checked in. There were 7 registration clerks & the check-in line moved very quickly. We had reserved an Island Tower room but decided to upgrade to the Paradise Tower for a very nominal fee. The next day we noticed that they were checking people in before noon. The room was very clean & spacious. To our surprise, it even had a refrigerator. The housekeeping staff was extemely helpful in getting us extra pillows. They also provided extra bath mats. The bathroom was a little worn but very clean. We found everyone there very pleasant & accomodating. We are not avid gamblers but the comps were great. We were given free tickets to 2 shows plus money to use in the hotel. We chose to apply the money to our hotel bill. We also had a great coupon book to use throughout the casino. We were permitted to go ahead & check out the night before we left. Since our plane did not leave until late afternoon, we were able to check our bags at no cost the next morning. Tuscany's Italian restaurant was great. The location is ideal. We would definately stay here again.

0 Stars valentino September 16, 2006

Although this hotel may offer one of the better rates in town, I guarantee that this hotel has the worst customer service I have ever encountered from any hotel around the world.

I was promised a complementary waiver from the Casino Host, Doug, of up to $300 and I can just simply charge items to my room and after which he will pick up the tab. Therefore, I started charging several items to my room such as meals, cigarettes, and drinks to my room. Upon checking out, the staff suddenly told me that a few items such as tips, liquor and cigarettes, could not be complemented. No one ever told us that! On top of that, the $300 limit was not reached yet. Being confused like that, I called up my Host to find out why I was charged although I was promised an amount to be picked up. Guess what? He simply pushed responsibilities away and even told me, “I guess you have never been complemented before so take this as a good learning experience.” I was really really shocked that such things could come out from a Host who was supposed to make your stay at a hotel better instead of screwing it up. They do not even have the simple courage to admit their failure on their responsibility to inform their customer, and even spoke back with such words.

The talk continued with Sr. Executive Casino Host (SECH). Wow, his attitude was far worse than his subordinate. Instead of finding a way to solve the issue amicably, he just stormed into the room asking for us n was glaring at me throughout the conversation and as each second passes, his tone raises with it. “We do not need to tell you what items we will comp or not. It is not our responsibility. It is a priviledge given to you. There are so many hotel guests and you can’t expect me to be telling every one of them. This is your fault for not asking in the first place.” Those were his own words. I have never seen any hotel management with this type of service before. What?? You are complaining about a hotel guest? Welcome to the “world’s best customer service.” And the best part was that it was the SECH whom walked away first. Sounds like he had lost the conversation.

Folks out there, for all the money you are going to spend on your trip to Las Vegas, why not just pay a little more for hotels such as Luxor, Excalibur, or Mirage where you can enjoy better food, better accommodation, excellent atmosphere, and quality service staffs. I bet your stay will be much better off than at Tropicana. So folks, make your money worth while.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User February 25, 2006

The Tropicana was fun, but kinda hard to find your way around the casino area- they don't really want you to find your way out, right? Just like any other casino.

But overall a nice place to stay, the pool is pretty and comfortable. Don't miss the bird show - it's a free-be and fun!

The Tropicana is right on one of the best corners in Vegas - close to everything!

0 Stars RateVegas.com User February 06, 2006

Wouldn't stay there if you paid me.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User October 02, 2005

When are they going to implode this place?
I stayed there once and will not stay or play there again until a lot of things get reworked. The room was OK, but still not worth the price (eventhough the room rates are rather cheap).
Service was non-existant. I'll address more specific issues if their appropriate catagories.
If you expect service or a nice place, stay away from the Trop. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower, this may be the place for you.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User July 30, 2005

I have stayed here the last two times I have been to LV

The best thing about the room was the view of the Strip.

I have stayed in the Island Tower in the back both times and that walk to the room and back gets old after a while.

Also, the rooms in this tower need another table and lamp by the window. There are only the lamp by the tv and the lamp by the bed to illuminate the entire room. Gets too dark in there.

The next time I stay here I might try the tower closer to the Strip and see if that is a improvement.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User July 15, 2005

Stayed 3 nights in the Paradise Tower and were very pleased. The Island Tower and Garden rooms looked a little run down, so we would recommend spending the extra money for the Paradise Tower. Staff was friendly and the comps were great for "low rollers" like us. The pool was fantastic, as nice as the pools at Caesars Palace. The Trop is a good combination of old and new Vegas, but if you are a Bellagio type person, it's probably not for you. If you want to be on the Strip and gamble at downtown bet minimums, the Tropicana is a perfect fit.

0 Stars stevez49 July 05, 2004

always a pleasent stay. A very relaxing atmosphere. with great service and good food.

0 Stars drunkpimp18 June 26, 2004

It may not be the nicest place on the strip but it is a good bargin for your buck

0 Stars Rodsmum April 30, 2004

I have stayed at the Trop many times they are always very pleasent,good service very friendly.I stay in the Paridise Tower the rooms are very large,the beds very comfortable and the room service is excellent.I have stayed at the Luxor,Mirage,Imperial Palace and the New York new York and the Trop is always the tops for us.

0 Stars genn June 13, 2003

There is a major labor dispute at the Tropicana Las Vegas, where more than 1,000 Culinary Union employees are working without a contract. The workers say they are willing to do whatever it takes to protect their standard of living, so there could be picket lines, demonstrations, and work stoppages at the Tropicana over the next weeks and months until a settlement is reached. This has already begun, and in May about 2,000 union workers picketed the Tropicana, holding signs, chanting slogans, and promising that they will be back demonstrating until the contract was resolved. These actions may substantially affect customer service, as well as being an inconvenience to guests. The workers are in departments such as housekeeping, kitchen workers, food servers, bartenders and bellmen.
For more information about the dispute, and links to alternative accommodations in Las Vegas, go to www.LVTropicanaAlert.info.
To ensure a pleasant visit for yourself and your family, find another hotel to stay at in Vegas!

0 Stars bnsf600 June 11, 2003

I stayed in one of the older rooms in the Garden towers and
the thing that is great is that they have a balcony, so you
can get actual fresh air. They are showing their wear though.
The bathroom is just average and nothing to get excited about.
Great pool. Swim up black jack and a waterfall to boot. The
service is lacking at this hotel and has been lacking for years.
They never let you check in before 3pm, unless you moan and
groan for a manager. Even the cocktail waiteresses aren't
real happy to be there. It just seems like everyone, except
the people at the deli are in a bad mood.

0 Stars lostyouth June 01, 2003

Ranks at the bottom of the list of Hotels we've stayed at. Elevator was filthy, room was lit up by lights on the outside of the building. Depressing atmosphere in the casino. Service was horrible. We arrived two hours before check-in and staff didn't even look to see if a room was available and then treated us like dirt as if we were stupid for even asking. Our typical flight to Vegas arrives at 8am. In 7 trips every other hotel I have been to has been very accomodating in trying to find an available room before check-in time.

0 Stars darawara March 30, 2003

I stayed in the executive jacuzzi suite for less money then a standard room at neighboring hotels and it was better than I could have asked for. The view alone could have been printed on a poster. All the staff was friendly and the dealers had more character and humor than any on the strip. Are there nicer and classier hotels? Yes, but who goes to Vegas for class. This is Las Vegas, and I guarantee the Rat Pack gambled at the Trop! Dinner at Savanna was impeccable for the price and the Comedy Stop is incomparable. Surely there are older rooms for a lesser price, but you get what you pay for AND if you go to Vegas to stay in your room, then maybe you should stay somewhere else. I will return to the Tropicana and tell my friend's to do the same.

0 Stars nikol14 March 19, 2003

i stayed at the tropicana in oct. and it was pretty chilly outside. i booked a garden room. let me tell u- i couldn't get the door of the room open. my cousin couldn't get it open either. even from inside the room. it took us about 10 minutes. then there was no heater in the room so it was cold in there . and the room was tiny and it not only looked like a cheap motel 6, but it smelled like one too. the room was in the basement so we had to drag our suitcases down the stairs. so, i decided to call the very friendly lady at the front desk that checked us in and complain about the room being too cold. she gave me a choice of an upgrade at either the island tower or the paradise tower. i chose the most expensive, of course, the paradise tower. the room was super clean and huge! it was nice and had a great view. this was only for less than $40/night. the only problem with the room was that it was an adjoining room and u could hear the people next to us all night so we called security to get them to quiet down. we only got to stay one night though because they said someone else booked the room the next day. so we went to another hotel because we weren't staying in the garden rooms again! we stayed at the san remo- a cheap hotel, but a great value with decent rooms!

0 Stars RateVegas User September 05, 2002

Stayed here in May 2002 and had a great room in the Paridise Tower. The room was clean, larger than most and had recently been renovated. The buffet however, was small, overpriced, tasteless and is to be avoided.

0 Stars RateVegas User December 05, 2001

Let's see where to begin, checkin line was extremely long with only 5 windows open at 4pm. The room was dark, musty, and filthy. One of the light bulbs was burnt out, the bathroom was dirty (hair, etc on floor and in shower). I would not walk barefoot in here. We stayed two nights and did not leave our rooms until 300pm and requested via phone call for maid service to come, upon arriving back to the room we discovered that the maid service never arrived!! They charge $1 you to use the phone even if you dont use it, in room safe carries a $3.21 fee (several hotels offer free in room safe). I've stayed up and down all over the strip and for the average price of the rooms, these are the far least value for the money. I will not be returning unless they offer me a free suite +RFB, but I won't hold my breath.

0 Stars RateVegas User September 18, 2001

I really enjoyed my stay here. The pool is huge and absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded to an Island Tower room upon check-in, without asking for it! The staff were all helpful and friendly. The room was not large, but was comfortable and had a pull-out sofa bed and a sunken bathtub. We had a bad experience at Calypso's coffee shop (no one would wait on us!), and the little shops they have leave a lot to be desired. But, overall, the hotel is a terrific value and at a great location. I would recommend the Tropicana to anyone.

0 Stars RateVegas User July 12, 2001

This rating is for the function room. My partner & I were married in the chapel then had our reception in the Hawaiian Rooms. We were amazed by how beautifully the buffet had been laid out. The room was immaculate and incredibly classy, the food was delicious looked beautifully laid out, plenty for all (unlike the traditional UK wedding fare!) The butler who attended to us was incredibly sweet and attentive. JoAnn who arranged the function was very friendly and organised. Exceeded our expectations by miles! Perfect. Thank you.

0 Stars RateVegas User May 31, 2001

Very Low class hotel. If you have class prepare to be insulted at every turn. The staff at this hotel just does not know how to treat their guests.

0 Stars RateVegas User May 09, 2001

I stayed in room 5248 (non-smoking) and I thought it was
a nice room. It had a balcony, which is the best part of
vegas, since all the other rooms out in vegas have to have
air pumped into the rooms. If you want a room with a
balcony overlooking the pool, then ask for this one. Their
rooms aren't new, but I love them. If you are going
to gamble, go elsewhere (same goes for their selection
of restaurants). I would stay here again, but only
if the room had a balcony.

0 Stars RateVegas User April 07, 2001

I found it to be a nice place to stay. It obviously is not the bellagio, but they don't claim it to be. I enjoyed my stay very much. The rooms were clean and room service was top notch.

0 Stars RateVegas User March 02, 2001

This is a decent place to stay if all you want is a room to sleep for cheap and a decent pool.

0 Stars RateVegas User February 14, 2001


0 Stars RateVegas User December 20, 2000

The pitstaff short-changed me on my playing time.
I gambled 4 hours using my player card.
Following day,as I was talking to a Host-
was told I gambled only 1:20 mins.!?!?
I checked out immediately.
I will not return.

0 Stars RateVegas User November 30, 2000

The reason that I rated the room at the Tropicana so
highly is because I love having a balcony that I can
get some fresh air from. So many hotels now pump
air into the rooms and that just bothers me. The room
itself is average, but with the balcony, it just puts
it way up there in my book (the garden rooms are the
only ones with balconies). The pool is excellent.
Nice looking ladies and a tropical paradise is the
theme with a swim up blackjack table. I believe there is
also a jacuzzi and a water slide, but the slide is
not like the ones at wet 'n' wild. The only negative
was the front desk clerk, but upper management took
care of that problem.