Learn More

The Mirage

(The Strip)

Restaurant Ratings & Reviews Japonais (The Mirage)

2 Stars Ricky J May 30, 2013

Overpriced, average food .. if I hadn't been comped I would have begrudged paying top dollar for mediocrity

1 Star Bob March 17, 2013

Overpriced and average quality. $89. for 2 shrimp cocktails and 2 house salads. 1 coffee and 1 coke.

4 Stars Dan January 06, 2012

Great service, we advised our server we only had an hour and she made sure we were out in time without felling rushed. Food was very tasty and fresh. There are two sections, the restaurant and the lounge. We ate in the lounge which was a little odd due to low seats and tables... The lounge would be more ideal for a lighter meal.

1 Star Susan Perkins December 10, 2011

We recently stayed at the Mirage. Dec. 5th, 2011, we had dinner reservations for 6PM. Three persons in our party ordered Japanese food, both sushi and shashimi. Had one person not ordered steak and lobster, three people would have left the restaurant without eating. The fish was so OLD, it was not edible. Service was horrible, we never received the ginger or wasabi requested. This restaurant definitely needs a new manager. Instead of listening to our complaints and advice, he spent the whole time arguing with everyone. One person in the party was so mad, they wrinkled the bill, threw it on the floor and left the table.

5 Stars MIchael October 05, 2011

This has to be some of the best service we ever experienced. We just ordered appetizers, but their sushi and tempura are excellent. I tried their sake martini, but it really was not my thing; too much of a cucumber flavor. For a fun dining experience, order The Rock. This is our second time here, and we will definitely eat here again.

1 Star Jason August 28, 2011

Poor quality, no attention to detail, and raw chicken. What can I say, anytime you get fast food splintered cheapie chopsticks, paper on top of your tablecloth, and "Japanese" food not worthy of Edo on the mall food court, you have to wonder what these guys think if their clientele. Every corner was cut, no cut corner spared. From the untrained staff, to the slow, fractured service delivery of dishes this place deserves to go the way of the dodo. buyer be extremely aware, this appears to be a place on the verge of collapse

5 Stars E July 09, 2011

Was soo good ate here for dinner 2 nights in a row. Sushi is awesome. Very fresh and expertly prepared. Braised short rib is a must have. Some of the best udon noodle soup my wife has had. Even their ribeye steak is awesome. This place has become my favorite place at the mirage. Just loved it.

5 Stars DAD September 17, 2010

We ate here again on our most recent trip, and once again, were very impressed. We ordered the lounge dinner for 2, and at $45., it is a fantastic deal. It includes choice of: 2 apps, main course, and desert. All of it was wonderful, with the stand out item being the ginger-chocolate mousse cake. Also, during happy hour you can get a number of different apps and cocktails/ sake for $7.00. I can also say that the service was better than any other restaurant we visited on our trip. We will surely be back to Japonais

5 Stars MG - London August 07, 2010

Very impressive food

5 Stars Brooke June 03, 2010

So great!!

4 Stars MS April 14, 2010

The service is awesome. Some of the best I have experienced. The sushi and tempura were very good. I thought the portions were small, but somehow left feeling satisfied. I enjoyed the Japanese/French fusion.

5 Stars Anonymous April 09, 2010

Outstanding sushi!

5 Stars Stacy April 04, 2010

Outstanding sushi!!

5 Stars Stacy April 04, 2010

Outstanding sushi!!

5 Stars Stacy April 04, 2010

Outstanding sushi!!

2 Stars Jaclyn April 04, 2010

The short version is, the flavors of the food do not live up to the descriptions on the menu.

The restaurant is situated by the entrance to the Mirage in the front of the casino. They do a decent job of using music to drown out the noise, but this is defiantly not an atmosphere for a quite romantic dinner.

Their signature cocktail with the floating orchid was bland. We got 3 of the specialty rolls which were average. The lobster spring rolls and tuna ceviche were nothing special. The kobe beef small plate was atrocious - I realize these are American not Japanese, but they still should not be tough, flavorless, and require drowning in the dipping sauce. If you go here, you are going to spend quite a bit of cash for an any-city-USA quality meal.

On a good note, the service was outstanding and our server knowledgeable and enthusiastic. When the wine we selected was out to stock, the som brought us some complementary tuna nigiri with the substitute. Unfortunately, great service does not make average food taste any better. It might be okay to go to the lounge and have your favorite cocktail with a few pieces of sushi, but I doubt I will be back to find out.

5 Stars Shelby February 28, 2010

Awesome sushi and awesome atmosphere!!

5 Stars Todd January 04, 2010

Excellent sushi! Quite loved.

1 Star Vegasbab July 18, 2009

Totally bummed since I had heard from friends it was good. Food was blah. Service was good but very talkative about the depressing state of the economy.

1 Star Hunter October 18, 2008

My last meal here was very so-so, in every sense. Service below average but even worse, the food was just totally bland. I can't imagine coming back here, especially with a bunch of better places right there at The Mirage.

0 Stars chandler August 14, 2007

I agree - KoKomo's is not what it used to be. Nor is anything at the Mirage anymore. They have sold thier corporate soul.

0 Stars Joanne August 08, 2007

Why oh why did I subject myself and husband to anywhere in the new Mirage? Japonais was a rotten experience, and I will never return. The manager was chewing out a waitress (or Geisha girl, as she was dressed to look like, but the image comes across as looking like a human doll..)in front of all the customers. The food never showed up. (seriously)The bartender did not apologize...just stood looking at us like we were taking up too much of his time. This place is beyond pretentious...and it has absolutely no right to be. The MGM group could screw up anything, and boy have they ever at the Mirage. Even the volcano was stupid. (PINK flames???)

0 Stars Lynn Holliday May 22, 2007

We ate at Japonais on Saturday May 19 before seeing Cirque du Soleil's LOVE at the Mirage.

Upon arrival we let our server know of our time constraints and asked his advice about constructing a meal from a succession of appetizers hot and cold. He enthusiastically commended this idea and said that the food would come out quickly and we could continue to order as we went along until we felt satisfied.

"We" consisted of myself, my 19 year old son and 14 year old daughter. We started by sharing two types of sushi, both excellent, and then proceeded through "The Rock" (thin strips of marinated beef which you briefly cook on a hot rock at the table), Shrimp Tempura, Kobe Beef Skewers, and Crab Cakes.

The Kobe Beef Skewers were good, everything else was excellent. The Rock was so awesome we ordered a second one and would cheerfully have tackled a third one if we hadn't become satiated.

An excellent meal, very attentive service, arrival of food was beautifully paced and we were extremely happy with the entire experience. This is a restaurant we'll visit again!

0 Stars Jerry January 02, 2007

A great new addition to The Mirage. They have a nice lounge out front and then inside, a restaurant.

The menu is very, very good and the staff was very attentive. I would love to go back.